A NEW KIND OF NORMAL

received_10153306909161184

Makeup, hair and photography: Astronomicalmakeup

Location: Cambridge

Hello dearest,

I have been meaning to write about the weekend away in my church from the 31 March-2nd April 2016 to Suffolk but I have been so busy lately. Until last evening when a friend sent me a quote that hit home for me which I will share down below.

Imagine a room full of over 100 Youths and young adults with a hunger and thirst for God; now imagine same with the loudest music ever and lyrically empowering songs. Now imagine all of that with awesome preachers. I dunno if it is just me, I am a self proclaimed horrible singer but the moment the music in church is bad; it completely drains me and I become conscious of the fact that the band needs training and forget about the prayer for a while. It is not the best thing to do but I just can’t help it.

Youths across 4 centres (Peterborough, Leicester, Cambridge and London) came together lifting holy hands in one accord with a hunger and a thirst only God can quench for 3 days! Believe me it was an experience to remember.

Dan Blythe who is the pastor in charge of Hillsong UK youth spoke for the first 2 days and Kingsgate’s pastors in training talked on the last day. I will share just one part and post another part as a stand alone post later.

If you follow Hillsong church for a while now you know the hashtag FearlessGeneration on IG and all over social media. Apparently we live in a very fearful generation with people living under different types of fears: in increasing order the fear of

5. Loneliness

4. Ridicule

3. Rejection

2. Death

1. Failure

Today research shows that the fear of failure is number one even ahead of death on the list! If I am being honest with you, this is a battle I am still trying to overcome and God decided to take a drastic measure to teach me this lesson. We live in a world of over achievers today which in itself isn’t a bad thing until people start being too desperate to succeed and are willing to do all it takes even if it does not glorify God.

The word ‘Failure’ in itself scares the life out of me but during the weekend away I got a reminder that God has not given me a spirit of Timidity and fear but of a sound mind (2 Timothy 1:7). And I also felt God say instead of praying ‘I shall not fail’ pray that ‘in my failure/valley God will be glorified and I shall be edified’. Let us be of good cheer for whichever form of fear you are facing today Christ is risen and He has overcome the world Hallelujah!!!

Is it the fear of rejection? Short man Zaccheus was rejected, being a tax collector that he was he could not blend in with the people. He climbed up a tree and Jesus told him he will dine with him that night; had he been accepted and blended in with the crowd, what were his chances of hosting the King of kings to dinner at his place?

Fear masks a good and pleasant present with dirty and trashy gift wrap. False Evidence Appearing Real is what it is.

My friend sent me this quote last night:

“Give me one hundred preachers who fear nothing but sin and desire nothing but God, and I care not whether they be clergymen or laymen, they alone will shake the gates of Hell and set up the kingdom of Heaven upon Earth.”

-John Wesley

I have realised long time ago that as a Christian I can do much more than the biggest pastor can. God only uses the vessel available to him. Do not let fear rob you of that!

Go out and be the fearless generation for this is the new kind of normal!

God bless you

Miss Kay

 

About Kipazze

Final year Biomedical Science student in Cambridge. My love for the Lord started at a very young age and so did my love for fashion, I wondered how this 2 worlds would come together and still be honourable before the Lord. This 2 things make me happy : Jesus and Fashion. I love Jesus and i know he wants me to look good and you too :) . Take a walk with me on this blog as we make history. Stay blessed in Jesus Christ!
This entry was posted in Uncategorised. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

